Poetry

Hey guys! How is your November going? Thanksgiving is just a few days away, and then . . . Christmas! HArd to believe that it’s that time of year again. Didn’t we just do these same holidays a few weeks ago?

As we’ve seen from previous posts, art can come in many shape and sizes (literally and figuratively). 🙂

So, I thought for todays post, we could focus on the beauty art of poetry!

The Road Not Taken

By Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

This ^ is one of the poems that I’ve memorized. My mom and I used to read a lot of poetry together. Every few weeks we would try and learn a new poem. The Road Not Taken, was one of the first poems we memorized. And to this day, I can still recite it from memory!

Not all poems are serious however. Here is a cute/fun one!

Bark Bark

By Karen Jo Shapiro

 
Bark, Bark! It’s dark!
I wake before it’s dawn,
while all the people in this house
sleep on and on and on.
I don’t know why they sleep so long –
 I sing a little doggie song:
“Bark, Bark.” The park. Please walk me in the park.”
I lick their feet and jump on beds.
I nuzzle up beside their heads.
And when they open up their eyes,
I bark, “Get up! It’s time to rise!”
I personally have never been one to come up with the words for a poem, but I love to read, and recite poems.
What/who are some of your favorite poems/poets? I would love to hear about them!
Hope you guys are having a great day!
3 thoughts on “Poetry

  1. I’ve always thought it would be so fun to “act out” the Bark!Bark! poem with a group of friends. We need to put together an “artistic expression” night: Part talent show, part art gallery . . . And, of course, dessert!

Leave a Reply

